My Trip to Minnesota: Day 1

Here is some info on my trip to Minnesota for the ataxia research study.

First, I just need to say that air travel with ataxia is not fun. The last time I flew, I went to California. I had a suit, a mini-wardrobe, extra shoes, etc.  This time, I brought a single bag. And even that felt like it weighed 10,000 pounds. It also took a VERY long time to move throughout the airports. During my layover, I was the last person on the flight (instead of the first). I will say that the staff at the Kalamazoo airport was extremely helpful. They gave me a chair to sit on when I needed it, and helped me through the scanner – after I kept crashing into it and setting off the alarm.

Getting on and off the plane, as well as getting in my seat, was a bit of a challenge. Fortunately I only had one charley horse and I was able to control it rather well. If I hadn’t, I might have been considered a security threat.

When I finally arrived at the hotel (via a shuttle) it was around 5 p.m. and I had not eaten. The hotel shuttle did not operate from 4 to 6 because of rush hour traffic, so I walked down to the main area of campus for dinner. It was drizzling which made the walk extra exciting. I had to laugh because each time I crossed a street, the timer started. It used to be the case that I would make it with time to spare. Now, I was getting there after the hand was solid…

Because I still had some per diem left for the day, I went to a local sports bar for a second dinner. Turns out it was karaoke night. So.

Tomorrow, the actual studies begin.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

