Homily: 12th Sunday in Ordinary Time, Year B, 2015

As I was preparing my homily for this week, I tried to relate to the situation Jesus and his disciples were in while they were in the boat. I thought about the times life events caused my faith to be tested. I thought about the times that I had to rely on another person to see me safely through a situation. And then I realized that I had been in this exact situation before, as a father.

There have been a number of times when I have been asleep, either in my bed or on the couch, and one of my kids has woken me up to deal with something that was going on. Sometimes it was a “monster under the bed,” a loud burst of thunder, high winds, or strange noises outside. Regardless of the situation, I would rise from my place – often tired and ready to go back to sleep – to deal with the issue. Once all was back to normal, I remind my kids that I am there for them no matter what happens. I had a similar conversation with my daughter last night, when, for a second day in row, she was scared to sleep because of the storms. I assured her that everything was going to be okay and that if anything serious happened I would be right there to help her. She and I both know that to be true, but sometimes she needs some reassurance.

I believe this is the same assurance that Jesus gives his disciples. I could just picture them scurrying about, trying to figure out what to do. They finally decide to wake Jesus up to solve the problem, and can’t believe how easily he handles it. But, rather than only quelling fears, Jesus is actually able to calm the wind – something my kids wish I could do. Jesus is the real deal. And the question he asked his disciples – “Do you not yet have faith?” – is asked by him not for his own sake, but for that of his disciples.  I have said something similar when I have asked my kids “Don’t you know I will always be there for you? No matter what happens.”

The first reading also reminds us of the importance of faith. It takes place after the trials Job underwent, and in it we see God reminding Job of how he protected him despite his hardships. The reading, like the Gospel, also takes place during a storm. Once again, we are reminded that the power of God is greater than anything.

For someone at sea, a storm is a terrifying and dangerous event. But with God, there is safety and calm. There is nothing to fear. This is an important message for us to take away from today’s readings, but I think there is another.

God was not trying to only give assurance to Job. And Jesus was not trying to only reassure his apostles. They were both pointing to a much greater life for us, if we remain faithful and faith-filled. As Paul told the Corinthians, we now have the opportunity, because of Jesus, to become a new creation. We have a Church, given to us as a foretaste of the Heavenly eternity that awaits us. And we have, Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity, the gift of Jesus in the Eucharist.

God intends for us to be with Him in Heaven. If we are to get there, we need to live accordingly. To help us do so, he gives us the grace we need to see our way through many situations. And when we need some extra help, he is always there, waiting for us.

Leave a Reply

